Eatontown NJ Careless Driving Defense Lawyers
Under New Jersey law, careless driving is a similar offense to reckless driving; however “careless” implies that the offense was not consciously or purposefully committed and as such, entails less severe penalties than reckless driving offenses. Regardless, both careless and reckless driving summonses can be issued when a law enforcement officer determines that you are operating a motor vehicle in a manner that endangers persons or property. Due to the rather unspecific language associated with careless driving violations, a skilled defense attorney can often formulate an effective argument for the dismissal or reduction of these charges.
A conviction for careless driving in New Jersey may result in penalties including significant fines, 2 points added to your driver’s abstract with the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission, and even a sentence to serve time in the county jail. In addition, the addition of points on your driver’s license can lead to other ramifications such as increases in your insurance premiums.
If you or someone you love has been charged with careless driving, enlisting a seasoned defense attorney can mean the difference between a positive and a negative result in your case. The attorneys at Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington have successfully defended countless clients charged with the criminal offenses and motor vehicle violations in Monmouth and Ocean counties. Contact their West Long Branch, New Jersey office at 732-440-3950 for a free initial consultation with a member of their defense team.
Careless Driving in Monmouth County: N.J.S.A. 39:4-97
New Jersey details all motor vehicle violations under Title 39, specifically addressing offenses for Careless Driving in N.J.S.A. 39:4-97. According to this section:
A person who drives a vehicle carelessly, or without due caution and circumspection, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of careless driving.
Penalties for Careless Driving in New Jersey
Careless Driving offenses are punishable by penalties including a fine ranging from $50 to $200, court costs of up to $33, a $6 assessment, and a maximum term of 15 days in the county jail. However, the aforementioned penalties are doubled if the alleged offense was committed within an area wherein the speed limit is set at 65 miles per hour, is currently experiencing highway construction or repair, or is designated as a safe corridor.
Contact Red Bank NJ Careless Driving Attorneys for Help
If you or someone you love is facing a motor vehicle violation such as Careless Driving in Monmouth County, New Jersey, contact the offices of Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington at 732-440-3950. One of the firm’s skilled defense lawyers will be happy to evaluate your case, to provide answers to your pressing questions, and to discuss the alternatives that may be available to you.