2017 promises to be a difficult year for Middlesex County NJ residents. The Police Chiefs Association of Middlesex County have endorsed a DWI and DUI checkpoint campaign across the county. Traffic stops will be set up to test for sobriety, apprehend intoxicated drivers, and generally discourage people from driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
This initiative is being made possible by a $36,000 grant from the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety. The funds will be used to pay for the costs of salaries and equipment in New Brunswick, Edison, Woodbridge, and other municipalities across Middlesex County. Middlesex county is home to nearly one million residents according to official census data.
Middlesex County Prosecutor Andrew C. Carey has been a major supporter and proponent of this initiative. He believes that DWI/DUI checkpoints can be a major deterrent to intoxicated motorists taking to the streets, and he hopes the initiative will help to prevent serious accidents as well as save lives. He is hoping that residents find an alternative way to travel when needed, for example calling for a taxi, taking the bus, or having a designated driver.
Middlesex County DUI Checkpoints: A Detailed Look
When setting up a sobriety checkpoint, the Middlesex County Prosecutor’s Office lays out a basic set of rules for how officers will operate the screening process. The checkpoint and the officers operating it can either stop every passing vehicle, or stop vehicles at a predetermined regular interval, for example every fifth vehicle that passes through. This system is put in place in order to prevent discrimination.
New Jersey DUI Penalties
Motorists convicted of their first offense DWI whose blood-alcohol content registered between .08 percent and .10 percent can face jail time up to thirty days as well as potentially lose their driving privileges for seven months to a year. Motorists convicted with a blood-alcohol content of more than .15 percent must install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. Fines and associated legal fees can cost an individual as much as $15,000.
Second offense DWI penalties include mandatory jail time of at least 48 hours, up to a maximum of 90 days, and a potential loss of driving privileges of two years.
Third offense DWI penalties carry a jail time of half a year (180 days) and a loss of license of up to ten years!
Acquire Legal Counsel For a Middlesex County DUI
Driving while intoxicated is a serious Motor Vehicle violation with serious consequences. Retaining experienced counsel is crucial when negotiating the best possible outcome. If you or a loved one has been convicted of DWI/DUI, contact the law offices of Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington today to schedule a consultation.