Tinton Falls NJ Reckless Driving Defense Lawyers
In New Jersey, a reckless driving summons can be issued in coordination with another charge such as driving while intoxicated, or on its own, depending on the circumstances of the specific case. These offenses are rather broad in their definition, as they can be issued by a law enforcement officer if he or she believes that you are somehow operating a motor vehicle that in any way puts another person or property at risk. However, a knowledgeable attorney can create a defense strategy that allows you to avoid some of the dramatic negative consequences associated with a conviction for this offense.
If you are found guilty of reckless driving in New Jersey, you can face repercussions including a period of driver’s license suspension, numerous points added to your driver’s abstract with the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission, hundreds of dollars in fines, and even a jail sentence. Further, the addition of points on your driver’s license can create collateral consequences such as increases in your insurance premiums.
With these extremely serious consequences hanging in the balance, it is critical to enlist a knowledgeable and aggressive defense attorney who can advocate on your behalf. The attorneys at Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington have successfully defended countless clients charged with the criminal offenses and motor vehicle violations in Monmouth and Ocean counties. If you receive a summons for reckless driving, a member of their defense team is readily available to assist you. Contact their West Long Branch, New Jersey office at 732-440-3950 for a free initial consultation and take the first step toward resolving your case.
Reckless Driving in Monmouth County: N.J.S.A. 39:4-96
New Jersey details all motor vehicle violations under Title 39, specifically addressing offenses for Reckless Driving in N.J.S.A. 39:4-96. According to this section:
A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of reckless driving and be punished by imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for a period of not more than 60 days, or by a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $200.00, or both.
On a second or subsequent conviction he shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than three months, or by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500, or both.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey
First Offense Reckless Driving: a fine of ranging from $50 to $200, a potential period of driver’s license suspension, a maximum term of 60 days to be served in the county jail, and the addition of 5 New Jersey Motor Vehicle points on your license
Second Offense Reckless Driving: a fine of ranging from $100 to $500, a potential period of driver’s license suspension, a maximum term of 90 days to be served in the county jail, and the addition of 5 New Jersey Motor Vehicle points on your license
Contact Asbury Park NJ Reckless Driving Attorneys for Help
If you or someone you love is facing a motor vehicle violation such as Reckless Driving in Monmouth County, New Jersey, contact the offices of Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington at 732-440-3950. One of the firm’s skilled defense lawyers will be happy to evaluate your case, to provide answers to your pressing questions, and to discuss the alternatives that may be available to you.