West Long Branch NJ Speeding Defense Lawyers
Cases involving speeding in New Jersey can result in serious negative implications, with the addition of points on your driver’s license and potential collateral consequences such as increases in insurance premiums and even a period of driver’s license suspension if the number of points on your driver’s abstract with NJ Motor Vehicle Commission exceeds a designated threshold. However, with the help of an experienced defense attorney, you may be able to avoid or reduce some of these repercussions.
Specifically, New Jersey law states that if you accumulate between 10 and 12 points on your driver’s license abstract, you may be subject to a period of license suspension. Further, if you accrue a total of 12 points within 2 years or 15 points in over 2 years, your license may be suspended for 30 days or longer. Then, you must consider the significant increase in insurance premiums that may result from the accumulation of these points on your license and even these impacts if you are an out-of-state driver who is only traveling in New Jersey for a short time.
The attorneys at Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington have successfully defended countless clients charged with the criminal offenses and motor vehicle violations in Monmouth and Ocean counties. If you receive a speeding ticket, a member of their defense team will assess your case and work to achieve the best possible outcome for you, which may involve a plea to a lesser violation without associated points or even a dismissal. Contact the West Long Branch, New Jersey office of Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington at 732-440-3950 for a free initial consultation and take the first step toward resolving your case.
Speeding in Monmouth County: N.J.S.A. 39:4-98
New Jersey details all motor vehicle violations under Title 39, specifically addressing speeding violations in N.J.S.A. 39:4-98. According to this section:
Subject to the provisions of R.S. 39:4-96 and R.S. 39:4-97 and except in those instances where a lower speed is specified in this chapter, it shall be prima facie lawful for the driver of a vehicle to drive it at a speed not exceeding the following:
a. Twenty-five miles per hour, when passing through a school zone during recess, when the presence of children is clearly visible from the roadway, or while children are going to or leaving school, during opening or closing hours;
b. (1) Twenty-five miles per hour in any business or residential district;
(2) Thirty-five miles per hour in any suburban business or residential district;
c. Fifty miles per hour in all other locations, except as otherwise provided in the “Sixty-Five MPH Speed Limit Implementation Act,” pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1997, c.415.
Penalties for Speeding in New Jersey
As mentioned above, in New Jersey, speeding violations are associated with the addition of motor vehicle points on your driver’s license. The specific number of points issued in a given case is contingent upon the level of speed at which the driver exceeds the speed limit.
1-14 mph over the speed limit: 2 motor vehicle points
14-29 mph over the speed limit: 4 motor vehicle points
30 mph or more over the speed limit: 5 motor vehicle points
Contact Fair Haven NJ Speeding Attorneys for Help
If you or someone you love is facing a motor vehicle violation such as speeding in Monmouth County, New Jersey, contact the offices of Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington at 732-440-3950. One of the firm’s skilled defense lawyers will be happy to evaluate your case, to provide answers to your pressing questions, and to discuss the alternatives that may be available to you.