Holmdel NJ Third Offense DWI Defense Attorneys
In New Jersey, the penalties for a third or subsequent DWI or DUI offense can be catastrophic, with repercussions that affect your life for the next decade, regardless of your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of the alleged offense. This means that a third or subsequent DWI offense is considered the same if you are barely over the legal limit or three-times that level. The consequences of a DWI extend to family, employment, finances, and the like, which is why it is critical to enlist a passionate legal advocate who can represent your interests throughout this tumultuous process.
If you are convicted of a third or subsequent DWI or DUI in New Jersey, your sentence may entail a 10-year period of driver’s license suspension, a fine of up to $1,000, community service, program attendance at one of the State’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers, and a maximum of 6 months in jail. Collateral consequences such as increases in insurance premiums and employment issues due to lack of transportation can also become problematic after an individual is found guilty of their third or subsequent DWI.
With copious knowledge of State law pertaining to DWI in New Jersey, the lawyers at Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington employ all means necessary to ensure that their clients are protected from the full impact that a DWI or DUI conviction can have on their lives. With a variety of specifically-formulated tactics for fighting these charges, these skilled attorneys carefully examine every component of a DWI case, from the circumstances that preceded the stop to the procedure followed during and after the arrest. They have had countless successes defending clients against DWI charges due to their attentiveness and precision when evaluating these cases and are pleased to provide free consultations. Contact their West Long Branch office today at 732-440-3950 to speak with one of the firm’s talented DWI defense attorneys.
Third Offense DWI in Monmouth County: N.J.S.A. 2C: 39:4-50
The New Jersey Criminal Code addresses offenses involving driving while intoxicated in N.J.S.A. 2C: 39:4-50, stating the following with regard to third offenses for DWI:
(a) Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section (which pertains to DWI offenses committed within a school zone), a person who operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood or permits another person who is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug to operate a motor vehicle owned by him or in his custody or control or permits another to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood shall be subject:
(3) For a third or subsequent violation, a person shall be subject to a fine of $1,000.00, and shall be sentenced to imprisonment for a term of not less than 180 days in a county jail or workhouse, and shall thereafter forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for 10 years. For a third or subsequent violation, a person also shall be required to install an ignition interlock device or shall have his registration certificate and registration plates revoked for 10 years.
Penalties for Third Offense DWI in New Jersey
The penalties associated with a third conviction for DWI in New Jersey are extraordinarily harsh and life-altering. Specifically, sentences in these cases may entail the suspension of driving privileges, imprisonment, fines, community service, program attendance at one of the State’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers (IDRC), and a mandatory ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. The following is a list of the consequences involved when a person is found guilty of their third or subsequent DWI:
- Driver’s License Suspension: mandatory period of 10 years
- Imprisonment: mandatory sentence of 3 months, maximum of 6 months
- Fine: $1,000
- Community Service: term of 30 days
- Ignition Interlock Device: mandatory period of 3 years
- Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC): must comply with all program requirements or be subject to a 2-day term of imprisonment and suspension of driving privileges until requirements are met
- Motor Vehicle Commission Surcharge: $1,500 per year for 3 years
Contact Hazlet NJ DWI Defense Law Firm for Assistance
For additional information as to how these Monmouth County DWI defense attorneys can assist you or someone you love in combating the State’s case and delivering the best chance of success, contact the West Long Branch, New Jersey office of Chamlin, Rosen, Uliano & Witherington at 732-440-3950 or toll free at 888-328-9131.